I Like Miley. Bite Me.

I’m sort of sorry. I know a lot of people aren’t going to respect me for saying this, and I guess I still question myself a little, but I can’t help it. I like Miley Cyrus.

Well, her music, anyway. I don’t like watching her on TV. My daughter (10) falls perfectly into the Hannah Montana demographic, and regularly laughs out loud at the show. And though she won’t wear HM clothes to school anymore, she does get a kick out of the slapstick. We watch iCarly together because the writing and acting are good (thank you, Dan Schneider), and because Jerry Trainor is weird and hilarious.

Anyway, Miley – I was playing guitar with some friends a few weekends ago, and I brought up how I like Miley’s voice and the production of the songs in general, and as I expected, I got some instant feedback. I tend to bring it up when the conversation gets a little dull. You should have seen the looks of disgust. It was amazing how many of my musician friends had just thrown the young pop sensation on the pile with all the other sticky-sweet, gummy-bear-smellin’, Disney-fied singers like whats-his-face and Ashley Tisdale an the Jonases, and assumed she was the next (and hopefully last) Hillary Duff.

Well, I maintain that she really isn’t. She’s an incredibly talented (off-screen) performer, with a voice every bit as unique as Reba McEntire’s, she rarely sings out of tune during concerts, she writes a lot of her own songs (the teen-creepy lyrics don’t interest me at all), and somehow comes up with really interesting melodies. As a song-writer, I can’t help but get some good ideas from her tunes. My wife loves “The Climb,” by the way. There’s a reason for that. It ain’t bad, y’all.

OK, OK. It’s all subjective, I know. You don’t have to like (selected) Miley Cyrus music just because I do. One thing I did learn in college is that art moves individuals at different times. I just don’t want people to assume that just because something is commercial, it isn’t artful. Or that every little singer out there can act, too.

Love her, hate her, I don’t care. Just don’t throw the baby Diva out with her billion-dollar bathwater. If she doesn’t Britney this thing, she could be around for a long time.

About jimmyfauntleroy

I was born to create. I was born to communicate. I was born to see things in a unique way. So were you. You have a story to tell, so tell it. Nobody cares what you think. They want to know who you are.
This entry was posted in STORY. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Like Miley. Bite Me.

  1. I like her, too. Thanks for saying something.

  2. Britt says:

    And this is why I think you are wonderful…”you’re weird too”-my most favorite words you ever spoke to me 🙂

  3. Aaron Hopkins says:

    I’m a secret admirer of Miley…party in the USA dude!

Leave a Reply

