It’s A Wall-E World

our future

Our Future

I sat down with a friend yesterday morning in a very weird Starbugs. There was a bank next door, and apparently the two businesses have established some sort of symbiotic relationship whereby you can buy your coffee and then go sit inside the bank at any one of the 10 or so tables, and drink it while looking at posters of very happy home owners truly enjoying their new mortgage.

Anyway, that’s not what I wanted to tell you about. What I wanted to say was, after accessing my line of credit to buy a Grande Half-Caff Americano with room, my friend and I found a place to sit in the StarBank®, and we were talking about FaceBook. Like it was a good thing. To me, FaceBook isn’t a bad thing, it’s just that whenever I go there, it reminds me of how easy it is, in our super-busy, emotionally pubescent culture to isolate ourselves from each other. So, FB’s not bad, it’s just sad. I think that’s why it’s blue. Plus, I get stuck in there.

My 14 year-old son was running off of a rain-soaked soccer field yesterday and got his shoe stuck in some really thick mud. When he finally pulled his foot out, the shoe didn’t come with it. It was so gooey and hilarious that my wife took a picture. That’s exactly what happens to me with FaceBook. I’ll be trying to get somewhere (like, I don’t know, bed, or something), thinking I’ll check in to see if anyone from Middle School still remembers (loves) me, and I get hopelessly waylaid for two hours, staring at the screen until my eyes water. So I’ve resolved to open the BlueDoor only about 3 times a month. Or when I have a gig.

So I said something about that to my friend yesterday morning at the BankBucks®, and that we were all destined to become the chubby, hovering, atrophied screen-starers of Wall-E, (Dude, have you seen the new thing from Honda that scoots you around?? This is getting nuts!!) and he said he disagreed. He said he thought that could happen, but that, if your shoe doesn’t get stuck, FaceBook has been a remarkable way to truly connect with people, people with whom we would’ve completely lost touch if left to traditional means of communication. He said it’s up to him (us, me) to take the next step and call that person whose status says they just got back from a funeral and are exhausted. Or to meet with an old friend from Middle School who’s coming through town.

So, apparently it can actually be used to connect real people in real ways, provided we really care to know each other.  Weird, huh? Now, if we can just find a way to attach an iPad to that Honda thing…

About jimmyfauntleroy

I was born to create. I was born to communicate. I was born to see things in a unique way. So were you. You have a story to tell, so tell it. Nobody cares what you think. They want to know who you are.
This entry was posted in STORY. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s A Wall-E World

  1. mirrorman says:

    Brilliant post, Dude. Keep up the good work.

  2. Dorothea says:

    I’ll be looking for a call next time I post on a bad day…and let me know when you’re looking for visitors 🙂

Leave a Reply

